The Lake House was
built as a tavern in 1847
by Charles Saylor. Intended to serve as a
stop over for stage coach
riders being midway
between Wilkes-Barre and Easton, PA.
overlooked Saylor's Lake,
a popular religious retreat...
Locals quickly linked the Lake House with evil after the
beating death of one of the original owners.
An expansion saw hotel rooms buitl on top of the exisiting structure, encasing the original building beneath it. Many saw this as a way of locking in the evil.
Present day visitors can look through a hole in the attic floor to see the original rooftop and siding of the original tavern buried beneath the structure of the hotel...